'Wear and Tear' Exclusion: Why Gradual Damage Isn't a Claim
A twenty-year-old roof doesn't fail all at once — it thins, cracks, and loosens over years until one storm finishes the job. When the claim arrives, the carrier's first question is whether the damage was sudden or gradual. The wear-and-tear exclusion exists to keep insurance from becoming a maintenance contract, and it is one of the most cited reasons for denied roof, plumbing, and siding claims. But 'old' doesn't automatically mean 'excluded' — the line is finer than most denial letters suggest.
What the exclusion actually says
The standard wording excludes loss caused by 'wear and tear, marring, deterioration' — sometimes expanded to include 'mechanical breakdown,' 'rust or corrosion,' and 'inherent vice' (a defect built into the material itself). The principle: insurance covers fortuitous loss — sudden, accidental, unexpected. Gradual decline from age, weather exposure, and use is the owner's maintenance responsibility.
This is why carriers send inspectors looking for pre-existing condition: curled shingles, long-term staining, patched areas, and corrosion patterns all suggest the loss was developing long before the claimed event.
How it appears in policy language
You'll find it in the Exclusions section, often as item one: 'We do not cover loss caused by wear and tear, marring, deterioration, mechanical breakdown, rust, corrosion, or inherent vice.' Read the sentence that follows, though — many forms then add the critical qualifier: 'However, we do cover any ensuing loss caused by a covered peril not otherwise excluded.' That second sentence is the doorway back to coverage, and adjusters don't always walk you through it.
How it drives real denials
The exclusion does its heaviest work on three claim types:
- Roof claims. The most common battleground. A storm hits a 22-year-old shingle roof; the carrier's inspector documents granular loss, brittle shingles, and prior lifting — and attributes the leak to age, not wind. The policyholder sees storm damage; the carrier sees a roof that was already failing.
- Plumbing claims. A supply line bursts and floods a bathroom. The carrier covers the water damage but denies the pipe itself as corrosion/wear — or denies everything, arguing years of slow seepage preceded the burst.
- Siding, paint, and seals. Caulking failures, flashing deterioration, and weathered siding that finally lets water in. Carriers commonly frame the resulting interior water damage as the foreseeable end of deferred maintenance.
In each case the carrier's argument follows a template: the peril you named was merely the last straw, and the real cause was years of decline.
Where the line actually sits
Wear and tear is not a magic phrase that ends the inquiry. Three questions determine whether the exclusion truly applies:
- Was there a distinct, datable event? A windstorm on a specific date that tore shingles is different from shingles that simply aged out. Dated weather records, photos, and neighbor damage reports establish the event.
- Is the damage separable from the aging? Even on an old roof, wind-created openings are wind damage. The carrier can exclude the worn component while still covering what the storm distinctly did.
- Did a covered peril cause separate ensuing damage? The corroded pipe itself is excluded — but the water damage its failure caused is commonly covered as ensuing loss. This is the single most underused counter to wear-and-tear denials.
What you can do about it
- Maintain and document. Maintenance records, roof inspection reports, and dated photos of the property's condition are the evidence that separates 'sudden' from 'gradual' at claim time.
- After a storm, document fast. Photograph damage before temporary repairs, note the date and weather event, and get a contractor's written opinion distinguishing storm-created damage from pre-existing wear.
- Challenge blanket attributions. If the denial says 'wear and tear' without identifying specific pre-existing conditions, ask for the inspector's report and the evidence behind the conclusion.
- Invoke ensuing loss explicitly. When part of the damage is excluded as wear, quote the ensuing-loss exception and itemize the covered damage that followed.
- Before renewal, know your roof's age. Many carriers now schedule or restrict older roofs regardless of condition — a separate issue from wear and tear, but it compounds the same claims.
Reading your denial letter like an adjuster
Wear-and-tear denial letters follow a template. Learning to read it shows you where it's weak: it names the exclusion, describes observed conditions (curling, granular loss, staining, corrosion), and concludes the damage is 'long-term' or 'deferred maintenance.' What's often missing is the connective tissue — dated evidence that the specific damage you claimed predated the event.
- Highlight every factual claim about pre-existing condition and ask: was this observed or assumed? An inspector who never entered the attic asserting long-term seepage is assuming.
- Check whether the letter addresses your event evidence — storm dates, photos, contractor opinions. A denial that ignores your dated proof is answering a different claim than the one you filed.
- Look for the ensuing-loss sentence. If the letter quotes the exclusion but not the exception that follows it in your policy, the analysis stopped one sentence early — say so, quoting both.
Respond in the letter's own structure: concede what's true (the roof is 20 years old), contest what's unsupported (no evidence this leak predated the storm), and redirect to the policy language. Adjusters respect — and supervisors approve — responses that engage the evidence rather than vent about the outcome.
Wear and tear vs. neglect vs. faulty workmanship
Three neighboring exclusions, three different meanings. Wear and tear is passive aging — time and exposure doing their work. Neglect is the owner's failure to take reasonable care — the known leak ignored for two years. Faulty workmanship is a defect in how something was built or installed. A denial letter sometimes blurs them; make the carrier pick one and prove it, because the counters differ — maintenance records beat wear-and-tear claims, prompt action beats neglect claims, and ensuing-loss arguments answer all three.
The denial you'd never lose
"Insufficient documentation" is the most reversible denial reason there is — and the one you can eliminate before it ever happens. Photos with timestamps, receipts, serial numbers, a room-by-room record — assembled once, in an afternoon. That's exactly what the ClaimReady Vault ($39/yr) is built to hold, somewhere a fire or flood can't reach.
Get the Vault — $39/yrCommon questions
My roof is 20 years old. Can I still file a storm claim?
Yes — age alone doesn't exclude a claim. The question is whether a specific storm event caused distinct damage. Document the event, photograph the damage promptly, and get a contractor to distinguish storm damage from age in writing.
The carrier covered the water damage but not the pipe. Is that normal?
Very. The failed component (corroded pipe, worn flashing) is typically excluded as wear and tear while the resulting water damage is covered as ensuing loss. That's the standard split — not a mistake.
What if the adjuster never went on the roof?
Then the wear-and-tear conclusion may rest on thin evidence. Ask for the inspection report, note what was actually observed versus assumed, and consider an independent roofer's written assessment.
Does maintenance really affect the outcome?
Directly. Maintenance records are the best evidence that a loss was sudden rather than the foreseeable end of neglect. Without them, the carrier's 'gradual deterioration' narrative goes unanswered.
Can wear and tear be used to deny a burst pipe from freezing?
Sometimes carriers try, but freezing is typically a named peril with its own conditions (like maintaining heat). If the pipe burst from a freeze event — not corrosion — the wear-and-tear label may not fit the facts.
Keep reading
- Ensuing loss: the exception that saves excluded claims
- Roof claim denials
- Betterment: when 'new' costs you extra
Insurance rules change — verify current requirements with the NAIC or your state’s insurance department.
Educational content, not legal advice. Deadlines, rules, and coverage vary by state, carrier, and policy — read your policy and consult a licensed professional for your situation.